Department of Electrical Engineering was established in 1957. Since its inception, the department has contributed in a big way to the society by providing technical manpower for various fields in India and abroad. Around 3000 graduates and 300 post graduates from the department are settled in very good positions all over the Globe. At present, the department is proud to get best merit students in the region. The faculty of the department continues to provide new frontiers of technical knowledge to the students by imparting quality education and research. The UG course is NBA accredited and is keeping pace with the latest developments in engineering education. Courses offered by the department are AICTE approved. Presently, Pf. Jaswinder Singh Sra is Head of Department.

Our department prioritizes teaching student through continuously accredited electrical engineering degree programs. Under graduate electrical engineering students have access to a wide array of subjects including power systems, control systems, power electronics, electric circuits, electrical machines, electromagnetics, electrical measurements and non-conventional energy sources.

Our post graduates programs are research oriented and lead towards the degrees of master of technology in power engineering in full time mode and master of technology in part time mode and doctor of philosophy under quality improvement program of A.I.C.T.E. Through these three core research areas our faculty are expanding the base of knowledge through numerous referred publications.


  • Best Student Chapter Convener ISTE 2014- Sanchi Taneja.
  • Best Project Award- Bhawanjeet Singh- EE4- Event:Efficycle, Project: Reventon Flying, UIET, Chandigarh, Date: 9-12 Oct’14,
    *All India Overall Second Position in SAENIS Efficycle 2014
    *All India Overall Endurance in SAENIS Efficycle 2014
  • Deepak Mishra EE4, Gold Medalist in 4KM Persute Relay in PTU Cycling Inter College Championship held at PAU, Ldh